GovRateCodes

Choice Hotels government rate

Updated 2026-09-04 · Source: Choice Hotels's published policy · Free · No sign-up

Choice Hotels runs the Choice Government/Military rate plans — no typed code; you select it in the booking engine. Below: exactly who its own terms cover, the booking path, and what the front desk asks for. The checker opens set to Choice Hotels.

Choice Hotels government rate: the facts

Government rateChoice Government/Military rate plans
Published codeNone published — selectable rate plans in Choice's booking dropdown, not typed codes
How you book itPick the applicable rate plan — Government/Military, State Government, or Military/Veterans — in the Rate dropdown on choicehotels.com; the leisure plan requires free Choice Privileges membership via choicehotels.com/CPMilitary.
Leisure / personal staysNo — Choice literally names the plans 'non-Leisure' — official business only; the leisure product is the separate Military/Veterans (Leisure) plan
Per-diem alignmentChoice markets nearly 1,700 hotels 'at government employees' per diem rates'; the rate-plan terms don't restate a GSA cross-reference.
ID at check-inState plan: city/county/state government ID. All plans: an eligible party must occupy the room.
Applies acrossStated chain-wide across Choice's brands in six regions; Radisson-Americas coverage inferred from the unified booking platform.

Not published by Choice Hotels: no typed code published; no contractor statement; Radisson coverage inferred, not stated.

Read from Choice Hotels's own published pages, checked 2026-09-04: All three rate-plan descriptions · Radisson brands on choicehotels.com (integration).

Who qualifies for the Choice Government/Military rate plans

Choice Hotels's own eligibility terms, group by group. "Not published" means exactly that — Choice Hotels does not state it, so the front desk decides.

TravelerEligible?What Choice Hotels says
Federal civilian employeesYesThe Government/Military (non-Leisure) plan is 'reserved for travel on official government business, only for federal employees.'
State & local government employeesYesA separate State Government (non-Leisure) plan: 'Bring your City, County or State Government ID… in the state you work in.'
Active-duty militaryYesMilitary personnel are covered by the non-leisure Government/Military plan for official travel.
National Guard & ReserveNot publishedNot separately named.
Military retireesNot published'Military personnel' and government/military association members are named generically.
VeteransNot publishedVeterans' rate is the separate Military/Veterans (Leisure) plan.
Military spouses & dependentsNot publishedMilitary spouses are named for the limited-time Gold Elite status perk, not explicitly for the room rate.
Government contractorsNot publishedNot mentioned on the government and military rates page.

How Choice Hotels compares

Like most of the set (10 of 12 chains with a program), Choice Hotels publishes no typed code — the rate is a selection in its booking engine, so any "Choice Hotels government rate code" circulating on forums is unofficial by definition.

On veterans the published terms are silent — across the set only 4 of 12 programs clearly include veterans, so assume the desk decides. Our veterans page lists the chains that do say yes.

Booking it, step by step

Pick the applicable rate plan — Government/Military, State Government, or Military/Veterans — in the Rate dropdown on choicehotels.com; the leisure plan requires free Choice Privileges membership via choicehotels.com/CPMilitary.

There is no code to type — selectable rate plans in Choice's booking dropdown, not typed codes.

At the desk: State plan: city/county/state government ID. All plans: an eligible party must occupy the room.

Against per diem: Choice markets nearly 1,700 hotels 'at government employees' per diem rates'; the rate-plan terms don't restate a GSA cross-reference. For FY2026 the standard federal lodging per diem is $110/night — how that ceiling works is in our per-diem guide.

Choice Hotels military discount

The leisure counterpart to Choice's official-travel plans, for military personnel and veterans, tied to free Choice Privileges membership — with limited-time Gold Elite status for military members, veterans and spouses layered on top.

Membership-gated but free — the one mainstream military rate that asks you to join a loyalty program first.

How to book it: Join Choice Privileges (free) at choicehotels.com/CPMilitary, then select the Military/Veterans rate plan when booking.

At the desk: An eligible party must occupy the room; bring military or veteran ID.

Which brands this covers

Choice states eligibility applies at all its brands in the U.S., Canada, Europe, Mexico, Australasia and the Caribbean. Radisson-family brands book on choicehotels.com since the 2023 integration — coverage there is inferred from the unified platform, not stated on the rates page.

Choice Hotels family brands include: Comfort Inn, Quality Inn, Sleep Inn, Clarion, Cambria, MainStay Suites, Econo Lodge, Rodeway Inn, Radisson, Country Inn & Suites, Park Inn by Radisson.

↥ Check your own eligibility →   Browse all chain rate pages →

FAQ

What is the Choice Hotels government rate code?

Choice Hotels publishes no typed code — the government rate is selected in its booking engine. selectable rate plans in Choice's booking dropdown, not typed codes Any code circulating on forums is unofficial.

Who qualifies for the Choice Government/Military rate plans?

Federal civilian employees, State & local government employees, Active-duty military clearly qualify per Choice Hotels's terms; other groups are conditional or unstated — see the table on this page.

Can I use the Choice Hotels government rate for leisure travel?

No — Choice literally names the plans 'non-Leisure' — official business only; the leisure product is the separate Military/Veterans (Leisure) plan

What ID does Choice Hotels require at check-in?

State plan: city/county/state government ID. All plans: an eligible party must occupy the room.

Is the Choice Hotels rate at or below federal per diem?

Choice markets nearly 1,700 hotels 'at government employees' per diem rates'; the rate-plan terms don't restate a GSA cross-reference. For FY2026 the standard federal lodging per diem is $110 a night; only GSA's FedRooms program contractually caps rooms at per diem.

How current is this page?

Every fact was read from Choice Hotels's own pages on 2026-09-04, with sources linked above. If you find something stale, tell us via the contact page and we'll fix it.

Related